top of page

Meet APA Virginia's 2023 Awards Program Committee

The Virginia Chapter of the American Planning Association honors and showcases the best in planning throughout the Commonwealth with its annual Awards Program. The Chapter recognizes the work of individuals who spearhead great planning throughout Virginia. APA Virginia convenes a panel of peers each year for its Awards Committee, representative of the profession’s depth and diversity to identify, acknowledge and promote great planning. Meet this year's panel:

Meghan T. Rupkey.jpg

Committee Chair 
Meg Rupkey,
CZO, City of Harrisonburg

Hilary Richardson Russo,
CZO, Loudoun County

Jonathan McCoy, Botetourt County

Steven B. Hall,
AICP, CZA, Manassas Park

Kearra Bright, 
Virginia Commonwealth University

Jeryl Rose Phillips, AICP, Isle of Wight County

Sophie Huemer, AICP, Alexandria City Public Schools

James Freas,
AICP, City of Charlottesville

Steven F. Haasch,
Chesterfield County

Noah Holmes Foster,
Summit Design & Engineering Servies

Jacob Giova, 
Prince William County


Bob Baldwin,

If you have any questions regarding the Awards Committee, please reach out to APA Virginia's VP of External Affairs, Julie Chop at



Thank you to our


Taylor Jenkins.jpeg

Taylor Jenkins, AICP

Statewide Transit Planner

Roanoke County Department of Planning

Brian Laverty.jpg

Brian Laverty, aicp

Senior Transportation  Planner

Mead & Hunt 

Brian Swets.jpg

Brian SwetS, AICP

Manager of Comprehensive and Strategic Planning

City of Portsmouth Planning Department

Dani Barlow.jpg
Diana Inthavong (1).jfif
Meghan Rupkey.jpg

Dani Barlow

Transportation Planner II

Fairfax County Department of Transportation

Diana Inthavong

Planner II

Loudoun County Department of Planning and Zoning


Town Planner

Town of New Market

Paul Newman.jpg

Paul Newman

Market Intelligence Manager

Loudoun County Department of Economic Development

Prarthana Rao.jpg

Prarthana Rao

Environmental Planner and Consultant


Sharon Williams.jpg
Tammy Holt.jpg

Sharon Williams, AICP

Planner III (Senior Staff Coordinator)

Fairfax County Department of Planning and Development

Tammy Holt


Universal Patterns Urban and Regional Planning

bottom of page